You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Nursing Awards & Recognition

Join Us in Celebrating the Achievements of Nurses, Nursing Students
and Other Health Professionals

Service is its own reward, but that doesn’t mean we can’t take time to recognize and celebrate hard work and dedication. From the humble (but treasured) service pin to the prestigious Florence Nightingale Medal, the Red Cross has many ways to honor the nurses, nursing students and other health professionals who bring our mission to life.

Susan Hassmiller Nursing Award


Cheri Larson, RN, Los Angeles Region Nurse Leader, and Jarrett Barrios accept the Susan Hassmiller Nursing Award on behalf of The Los Angeles Region of the American Red Cross. Also pictured: Gail McGovern, Susan Hassmiller and Bonnie McElveen-Hunter.

The American Red Cross Susan Hassmiller Nursing Award, a one-time $5,000 grant, was established in 2007 to enhance Red Cross local service delivery capacity through the increased engagement of nurses and nursing students in policy, leadership, and service delivery positions. The reviewers look for programs or activities that boost nurse engagement in one or a combination of the Red Cross lines of business, and/or in policy and leadership roles.

Nominations for 2017 are closed. Please check back in June for 2018 nomination information.

Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants may be a Red Cross unit or a group of units. The application must be endorsed by the unit executive. A letter of support from the regional or divisional leader(s) is encouraged.

Preference will be given to applicants whose proposed program/activity:

  • Enhances the unit or units’ ability to effectively engage nurses and/or nursing students in Biomedical Services, Disaster Cycle Services, International Service, Preparedness and Health & Safety Services, and/or Service to the Armed Forces.
  • Enhances the capacity or reach of an existing program in a significant manner.
  • Is sustainable once the award money has been spent.
  • Can be replicated by other units.
  • Is enhanced through matching dollars and/or in-kind resources.
  • Utilizes community partners/organizations to enhance and expand the reach of the program/activity.
  • Applicants must agree that, if selected, they will submit mid-term and annual reports and their program/activity for inclusion in the national headquarters Best Practice database. Recipient(s) must be available to attend the American Red Cross National Awards and Recognition Ceremony held in Washington, D.C.

    Ann Magnussen Award

    ann magnussen recipient

    Susan Denavit receiving the Ann Magnussen Award, March 28th, 2017 at The National Awards and Recognition Dinner at the Board of Governors Hall.

    The Ann Magnussen Award is presented annually to a volunteer or employed registered nurse who has made an outstanding contribution to strengthening or improving American Red Cross programs and services. It is the highest honor of individual nursing achievement in the American Red Cross.

    Nominations for 2017 are closed. Please check back in July for 2018 nomination information.

    Eligibility Criteria:

    Nominee must be a registered nurse who is currently associated with an American Red Cross unit. Nominees will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Provides service to others
  • Teaches/involves others
  • Exhibits compassion, professionalism and a humanitarian spirit
  • Demonstrates specific, outstanding contributions to strengthening or improving Red Cross programs and services
  • The nomination requires endorsement by a second nominator as well as support from the nominee’s unit executive.

    Florence Nightingale Medal

    florence nightingale recipient

    L-R: Gail McGovern, President and CEO of the American Red Cross; Florence Nightingale Medal recipient Rear Admiral Sylvia Trent-Adams, David Meltzer, General Counsel and Chief International Officer of the American Red Cross; and Bonnie McElveen-Hunter, Chairman of the American Red Cross.

    The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) awards the prestigious Florence Nightingale Medal bi-annually to exceptionally qualified nurses and voluntary nursing aides around the world who have distinguished themselves in time of peace or war by:

    - Exceptional courage and devotion to the wounded, sick or disabled or to civilian victims of a conflict or disaster
    - Exemplary services or a creative and pioneering spirit in the areas of public health or nursing education

    The Medal is the highest international distinction a nurse can receive.

    Rear Admiral Sylvia Trent-Adams awarded the Florence Nightingale Medal. VIEW FULL STORY

    The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) issues a call for Florence Nightingale Medal nominations to all the national societies every other year during the fall of even years (e.g. 2014, 2016) and announces Medal recipients the following spring. A committee of American Red Cross nurses reviews all U. S. nominations and submits nominees who meet the eligibility criteria to the ICRC for consideration. Nominations for 2019 will be accepted in the fall of 2018. Application information will be posted at that time.

    If you have any question, please email us.

    Eligibility Criteria:

    U.S. nominees must be active registered nurses or nursing aides who are volunteers or employees of an American Red Cross unit or affiliated/partner agency/organization. Nominators are asked to give examples of the nominee’s activities that:

  • Show courage and compassion
  • Meet the needs of the injured, sick or otherwise vulnerable
  • Have served to improve the quality of care and/or of staff training
  • American Red Cross recipients receive their Florence Nightingale Medals at an American Red Cross ceremony.

    The Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship


    Established in honor of the principal organizer of the Red Cross Nursing Service, the Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship is available to nursing students (undergraduate or graduate) who have contributed volunteer service to or are employees of an American Red Cross unit.


    Nursing Pins: A Symbol of Your Service


    Left to Right: Nursing Student Pin, awarded to nursing students after 10 hours of service. LPN Pin, awarded to licensed practical nurses after 20 hours of service. LVN Pin, awarded to licensed vocational nurses after 20 hours of service. RN Pin, awarded to registered nurses after 20 hours of service.

    Nursing pins are the traditional way we honor the contributions of nurses and nursing students who provide valuable Red Cross services to their communities. Earning and wearing your pin identifies you as a Red Cross nurse, promotes service and volunteerism to your peers, and celebrates your commitment to the mission of the Red Cross.