About Us

American Red Cross National Headquarters
The first Kentucky chapter of the American Red Cross was chartered in 1917. Today, there are five chapters in Kentucky which comprise the Kentucky Region.

  • Louisville Area Chapter
  • Western Kentucky Chapter
  • South Central Kentucky Chapter
  • Bluegrass Chapter
  • Eastern Kentucky Chapter
The American Red Cross is not a government agency; it relies on donations of time, money and resources from individuals in the local community, corporate partners and like-minded foundations to do its work.

Red Cross Services are provided throughout Kentucky thanks to the generous commitment of thousands of local volunteers who:

  • Help individuals and communities prepare for, respond to and recover from disasters
  • Teach lifesaving skills to tens of thousands of individuals
  • Offer support to U.S. service members and their families in Kentucky and across the world
  • And provide lifesaving information to immigrant and migrant communities, promote international Humanitarian Law and reconnect families separated by war or disaster.

How we helped in FY14

Services provided by the American Red Cross Kentucky Region from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014.
  • 4,000
    Volunteers generously donated time carry out the Red Cross mission
  • 1,474
    Families provided with shelter, food, comfort and home after a disaster
  • 12,953
    People prepared for emergencies through free community programs
  • 30,000
    Individuals trained in lifesaving skills such as CPR and first aid
  • 26,000
    Military families connected with service members through Louisville Call Center
  • 103,000
    Blood donations collected throughout Kentucky Region communities

Louisville Area Chapter

The Louisville Area Chapter serves as the Regional Chapter for the Kentucky Region, providing disaster leadership for the region and support for five chapters in Kentucky.

As a chapter, the Louisville Area Chapter serves 17 counties in Kentucky and Southern Indiana: Anderson, Bullitt, Carroll, Clark (IN), Floyd (IN), Franklin, Gallatin, Harrison (IN), Henry, Jefferson, Nelson, Oldham, Owen, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble and Washington.

Western Kentucky Chapter

The Western Kentucky Chapter is headquartered in Paducah and serves 24 counties: Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hancock, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster.

South Central Kentucky Chapter

The South Central Kentucky Chapter is headquartered in Bowling Green and serves 18 counties: Allen, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Logan, Marion, Meade, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson, Taylor and Warren. The South Central Kentucky Chapter also serves as the Service to Armed Forces station for Fort Knox.

Bluegrass Area Chapter

The Bluegrass Area Chapter is headquartered in Lexington and serves 33 counties: Adair, Bell, Bourbon, Boyle, Casey, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Estill, Fayette, Garrard, Harlan, Harrison, Jackson, Jessamine, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Lincoln, Madison, McCreary, Mercer, Nicholas, Owsley, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Scott, Wayne, Whitley and Woodford.

Eastern Kentucky Chapter

The Eastern Kentucky Chapter is headquartered in Ashland and serves 27 counties: Bath, Boyd, Bracken, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Robertson, Rowan and Wolfe.