You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Crowd gathers for Lifesaver Awards ceremony

Crowd gathers for Lifesaver Awards ceremony
It was such an honor to be part of this event and recognize people who are real-life live savers.

A crowd of people from across the chapter turned out for the 2013 Lifesaver Award ceremony June 25 at the North Jefferson City Pavilion.

“We were very pleased with the turnout,” said Nancy Sell, the Lifesaver project manager and the chapter’s major gifts officer. “It was windy and warm, but that didn’t keep the people away.

“It turned out to be a really neat event.”

The gathering of about 275 was treated to barbecue from Hy-Vee of Jefferson City and drinks from the Jefferson City Coca-Cola Bottling Co.

People had the opportunity during the evening to bid on a number of silent auction items. The event closed out with a live auction featuring a baseball autographed by Stan Musial.

Nine individuals in eight categories received Lifesaver Awards during the presentation segment of the evening. The chapter also presented its Jeri Lawson Volunteer of the Year Award.

“It was such an honor to be part of this event and recognize people who are real-life live savers,” Sell said. “The event took months of planning and a lot of work from a very dedicated group of people who served on the Lifesaver Committee, but it was all worth it when the ceremony took place.”

Award winners and award sponsors included:

  • Cimberly Crafton and Jeff Arnold, employees of Ozark Central Ambulance District, Belle - EMS Lifesaver Award, sponsored by University of Missouri Health Care.
  • Steve Barnes, Jefferson City, – Firefighter Lifesaver Award, sponsored by Dollar General
  • Brandon Irwin, Callaway County – Good Samaritan Lifesaver Award, sponsored by Central Bank, Jefferson Bank and Boone County National Bank
  • Jefferson City Police Department Officer Meredith Freidman, Jefferson City - Law Enforcement Lifesaver Award, sponsored by JCMG Laser and Vein Center
  • Dr. Rick Bohon, DDS, Columbia- Medical Lifesaver Award, sponsored by US Bank
  • Dwight McDonald, USMC ret., Russellville – Military Lifesaver Award, sponsored by Center for Pain Management
  • Steve Duncan, Jefferson City – Blood Services Lifesaver Award, sponsored by StorageMart
  • Charles “Gib” Graham, Mexico – Youth Lifesaver Award, sponsored by Prison Brews and Brew House Coffee
  • Jerry Carroll, Moberly – Jeri Lawson Volunteer of the Year
  • The chapter held its annual meeting after the event concluded and added five new members including: Roy Beal; Deb Brown; Anne Lock; Beth Everett Smith; and Hank Stratman.