You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

The H. Peter Burg Award for Community Leadership


Each year, the American Red Cross of Summit and Portage Counties proudly presents the H. Peter Burg Community Leadership Award to one or more individuals who best exemplify Peter Burg's leadership in the community, his compassion for its people and dedication to the lifesaving mission of the Red Cross.

H. Peter Burg balanced his family life and a prestigious professional career as president, chairman and CEO of Akron’s FirstEnergy Corporation (1999 – 2004) with deep community involvement. Pete served as a board member at the American Red Cross of Summit and Portage County (1999 – 2002), as well as numerous other civic and community organizations.

H. Peter Burg Award Recipients

Dave Lieberth - 2013

Mark and Sandy Auburn - 2012

Dave Brockman - 2011

Theresa Carter - 2010

Donna Early - 2009

Roger and Judy Read - 2008

Bud and Susie Rogers - 2007

Bill and Becky Considine - 2006

Duane Isham - 2005

H. Peter and Eileen Burg - 2004