You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Union County Red Cross celebrates volunteers at 95th Annual Meeting

On June 21, the Union County Chapter of the American Red Cross celebrated its 95th Annual Meeting at the Monroe Country Club.

The chapter celebrated and honored several local volunteers:

Judy Duston Blood Services Volunteer of the year: Ronnie Cutler

Community Partner Award: Monroe Fire Department and Union County Public Schools

Community Spirit Award: Terri Beeson

Corporate Spirit Award: CMC-Union

Emergency Services Volunteer of the Year: Frank Speer

Women of Hope Award: Ellen Vilas

Good Neighbor Award: Stepp Lehnhardt Law Group

Volunteer of the Year: Barbara Whitley

Cliff Andrews Exceptional Volunteer Service Award: Peter Gaiser

Hugh Griffith Humanitarian Honor Roll: Martha Fisichello

Twelve new board members were added:

Frank Aikmus

Martha Allen

Ben Bailey, Jr.

Heather Bostic

Carrie Cameron

Corey Cohen

George Howard

Rob Jackson

Karl Lehnhardt

Lyle Nearby

Tracy Regan

Tracey Wilcox

New officers were elected:

Jennifer Lawrence, Chair

Robin Goulet, vice-chair

Four National Lifesaving awards were given:

Jim Powers

Cathleen Powers

Madison Powers

Cecilia Dessingue

About the American Red Cross

The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies more than 40 percent of the nation's blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. For more information, please join our blog at