You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

2014 Everyday Heroes of the Tri-States Recognized

Tri-States Red Cross, 2014 Everyday Heroes Recognized News Photo
One is not born into the world to do everything, but to do something. - Henry David Thoreau

Dupaco, The American Red Cross of the Tri-States, KWWL and Radio Dubuque stations (1370 KDTH, 92.9 KAT-FM, 101.1 The River and 97.3 The Rock) proudly recognized winners of the annual Everyday Heroes of the Tri-States program on Tuesday, March 18, 2014 during a breakfast at the Best Western Plus.

Everyday Heroes are recognized for acts of heroism and are nominated by their peers, co-workers, family members or anyone who was touched by their selflessness. Honorees are selected by an independent selection committee, with no affiliation to the Red Cross or its sponsors.

Congratulations to the following 2014 winners:

  • Sue Balsamo - Volunteer Community Impact
  • Catherine Basten - Volunteer Community Impact
  • Billy Brotzman - Workplace Safety
  • Sarah Browns - Health Care
  • Karen Fox - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Janelle Garriott - Workplace Safety
  • Cesar Gonzales - Workplace Safety
  • Gary Gooder - Volunteer Community Impact
  • Sarah McDonald Hasken - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Miranda Heiar - Volunteer Community Impact
  • Erica Johnson - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Scott Knapp - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Stephanie Lange - Health Care
  • Duane Lanning - Workplace Safety
  • Doug McKinney - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Mike McMahon - Professional Responder
  • Marge Meyer - Volunteer Community Impact
  • Gary Norby - Education
  • Paul Pettinger - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Logan Schmerbach - Good Samaritan (18 yrs+)
  • Robert Westemeyer - Fire & Rescue
  • Nominations for the 2015 program are now being accepted. For more information, please contact the Red Cross at (563) 564-4564.


  • Front row, L-R: Logan Schmerbach, Catherine Basten, Marge Meyer, Sue Balsamo, Erica Johnson, Cesar Gonzales, Janelle Garriott, Bob Westemeyer
  • Back row, L-R: Sarah McDonald Hasken, Miranda Heiar, Gary Gooder, Sarah Browns, Stephanie Lange, Karen Fox, Duane Lanning, Mike McMahon, Bill Brotzman.
  • Not pictured (unable to attend): Doug McKinney, Paul Pettinger, Scott Knapp, and Gary Norby.