You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Red Cross Opens Evacuation Center for Families Affected by the Trail Fire in Placer and El Dorado Counties

“Our disaster teams are ready to provide lodging, hot meals, water, hygiene items, etc for evacuees"

Placer County, Calif., June 28, 2016 —The American Red Cross has opened an evacuation center for residents affected by the ongoing Trail Fire affecting two counties. The evacuation center is located at Foresthill High School located at 23319 Foresthill Road, Foresthill, CA 95631.

If evacuation orders remain in place overnight, the Red Cross is prepared to transition to a full shelter operation. Additionally, an Animal Shelter has been set up at the Gold Country Fairgrounds and is ready to receive animals.


“Right now our volunteers are making sure that these families have an immediate, safe place to go,” said Tami Martin, Red Cross Disaster Program Manager. “Our disaster teams are ready to provide lodging, hot meals, water, hygiene items, health services, and comfort for anyone impacted by this growing fire.”


The Red Cross urges everyone to follow evacuation orders from local law enforcement and have an emergency kit ready go for any disaster including wildfires.


We are responding and working together with local emergency services in both counties to offer the best assistance as possible to those who have been asked to evacuate.

Visit to learn more.


About the American Red Cross:
The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation's blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission.


The Gold Country Region serves a twenty-four county territory including Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba counties.


For more information, please visit or Stay up to date by following us on Twitter (@RCSierraDelta | @RedCrossNECal) or join the conversation on Facebook’s Sierra-Delta Chapter Page or Northeastern California Page.