You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Berks County 10th Annual Heroes Awards & Breakfast

The event raised over $25,000 for crucial local Red Cross programs and services.

On Thursday, May 8, the American Red Cross Berks County Chapter and WFMZ honored 19 local heroes for their extraordinary actions in 2013 at the 10th Annual Heroes Awards & Breakfast. Over 300 guests attended the event held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Wyomissing. The event raised over $25,000 for crucial local Red Cross programs and services.

Karin Mallet of WFMZ served as the program’s emcee. Dr. Tim Ring, a renowned trauma psychologist who has volunteered with the American Red Cross relief efforts following the 9/11 terror attacks and Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, was the Honorary Guest Speaker. Internationally, Dr. Ring has accompanied American medical relief teams to the 2005 tsunami in Thailand, Cyclone Nargis in Myanmar, the earthquake in Port au Prince, Haiti twice in February and December 2010, and most recently in the Philippines in Jan for Typhoon Haiyan.

Honored guest Senator Judy Schwank presented a proclamation to the American Red Cross Berks County Chapter in recognition of the 10-year anniversary of the Heroes Awards & Breakfast and certificates to each of the awardees. Awardees also received a certificate of recognition from Representative John Caltagirone, chocolates from Godiva, and free movie passes from Reading R/C Theatre 11 in addition to their awards.

The Heroes Judges Panel included WFMZ Assistant News Director Matthew Roth, Reading Fire Chief William Rehr III, and Exeter Township Police Chief Christopher Neidert.


Adult Good Samaritan Hero

  • Sgt. Jeff Doelp, Muhlenberg Police Department
  • Dr. Robyn Gansner
  • James Young, Trainer
  • Youth Good Samaritan Hero

  • Xavier Martinez
  • Animal Rescue Hero

  • Dave Lis
  • Community Impact Hero

  • Douglas Graybill
  • 911 Dispatch Hero

  • Theresa Johnson
  • Fire Safety Heroes

  • Firefighter Anthony Morganti
  • Firefighter Jeffrey Rushing
  • Firefighter/Paramedic Christian Murray
  • Deupty Chief Andrew Lafaver
  • Fire Chief Craig Reinhart
  • Michael Faranda
  • Medical Hero

  • Christine Wendt
  • Military Hero

  • In honor of Chief Warrant Officer 2 Jarrett Yoder (deceased)
  • Law Enforcement Hero

  • PSP Tpr. Edgardo Lugo
  • PSP Cpl. Douglas Bendetti
  • PSP Tpr. Brian Jasinski
  • Sheriff Deputy Richard Scott Reeser
  • NOMINEES receiving Certificate of Merit

  • Adult Good Samaritan – Jill Krynock
  • Animal Rescue – Marcy Tocker, Berks County ARL
  • Law Enforcement – Volunteer Firefighter Brandon Epting, Officer Matthew Henne, Wyomissing PD
  • Fire Safety – Anthony Morganti, Jeffrey Rushing, Scott Levan, Joseph Stoudt,Aaron Garner, Christian Murray, Andrew Lafaver, Eric Reinhart, Craig Reinhart of Temple Fire Company
  • A Special Thanks to Our Sponsors!

    Presenting Sponsor

  • WFMZ Channel 69 Berks Edition
  • Regional Community Partner

  • UGI Utilities
  • Luminary Sponsors

  • East Penn Manufacturing
  • Land Displays
  • Award Sponsors

  • First Energy Foundation
  • M & T Bank Foundation
  • Patron Sponsors

  • Fromuth Tennis
  • Fox Rotschild, LLP
  • Godiva
  • Stratix Systems
  • Friend Sponsors
  • Berks Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.
  • Boscov's Department Store
  • CoActive Wealth Strategists
  • Essig, Valeriano, P.C.
  • Discovery Federal Credit Union
  • Mr. Ken Harting
  • Heck Bros Florists
  • Herbein+Company
  • Mosteller & Associates
  • National Penn Bank
  • Quadrant Engineering Plastic Products
  • Reinsel, Kuntz, Lesher LLP
  • Security First
  • St. Xenia Philoptochos Society
  • Sunsweet Growers
  • Sweet Street Desserts