You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Red Cross elects new officers and board members

July 1, 2014: The American Red Cross in the National Capital Region elected new officers and board members at its annual meeting for terms beginning July 1, 2014, announced Board Chairman, Teresa Carlson, Vice President, Worldwide Public Sector, Amazon Web Services and Linda Mathes, CEO of the Region. The role of Board is to help develop the capacity of the Red Cross locally and regionally to deliver the Red Cross mission, develop community partnerships and generate resources to support mission services.

Newly elected officers are: Vice Chairs: Juan Carlos Iturregui, Senior Advisor, Denton, LLP and James (Jim) Sheaffer, Sheaffer and Associates; Finance Chair, Diane Casey-Landry, Founder, Managing Director, DCL Banking Advisors, LLC; Nominations Committee Chair, Doug Beck, Senior Vice President & Director, Corporate Development and Nominations Committee, ICF International; Vice Chair Richard (Dick) Duvall, Partner, Holland & Knight; Philanthropy Chair, Joyce Shields, Hay Group (retired) and Vice Chair of Philanthropy, Pat Schambach, Schambach & Williams Consulting. LLC.

Board members who will begin their terms on July 1 include: Dana Chipman, Lt. General US Army (retired); Michael Dearden, Senior Vice President & Regional Managing Director, Greater Capital Region, Wealth Management, Wells Fargo; Eric Grant, Vice President, Corporate Relations, WGL Holdings, Inc./Washington Gas; Susan Penfield, Senior Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton and Susan Santana, Assistant Vice President, Federal Relations, AT&T Services, Inc.

Mission Statement:

The American Red Cross prevents and alleviates human suffering in the face of emergencies by mobilizing the power of volunteers and the generosity of donors. The American Red Cross in the National Capital Region serves the District of Columbia; cities of Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas City, Manassas Park and Alexandria and the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William in Virginia, and Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties in Maryland.