You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

The American Red Cross in the National Capital Welcomes Board Members for 2015-2016

FAIRFAX, VA – AUGUST 18, 2015 — The American Red Cross in the National Capital Region held its Annual Meeting in the historic Board of Governors Hall at the American Red Cross National Headquarters in Washington D.C. on Thursday, June 18, 2015. Some of the afternoon’s notable events included a Leadership Panel from local community members, remarks from the region’s Chief Executive Officer, Linda Mathes, and Chairman of the Board, Teresa Carlson and the recognition of several worthy volunteers. The Annual Meeting also included the election of new candidates to the Board of Directors. At the Board Meeting that immediately followed the Annual Meeting, the Board of Directors elected members to the Executive Committee and the Advisory Council of the National Capital Region. The following Board of Directors will serve from July 1, 2015 until June 30, 2016.


2015 - 2016 Executive Committee:

  • Teresa Carlson, Chairman of the Board - Amazon Web Services
  • Juan Carlos Iturregui, Vice Chair - Denton US LLP
  • James Sheaffer, Vice Chair - Sheaffer and Associates
  • Karla Bousquet*, Community Outreach - IBM Corporation
  • Dick Duvall, Nominations, Board Development & Engagement - Holland & Knight
  • Joyce Shields, Philanthropy - Hay Group (retired)
  • Rebecca Shambaugh, Philanthropy - Shambaugh Leadership
  • Linda Solomon, Volunteer & Mission Capacity Building - Deloitte


2015 - 2016 Board of Directors:

  • Caryn Bacon - PEPCO Holdings, Inc.
  • Patty Baisden* - QMT Windchimes
  • Greg Baroni - Attain LLC
  • Sean Breslin* - AvalonBay Communities
  • Cheryl Campbell - CGI
  • Amy Caro - Northrop Grumman Information Systems
  • Diane Casey-Landry - DCL Banking Advisors, LLC
  • Dana Chipman - Lt General US Army (retired)
  • Patrice D’Eramo-Flack* - Cisco
  • Glenn Hazard - Xceedium
  • Sherry Hwang - Pyramid Systems, Inc.
  • Renee Bailey Iacona* - AstraZeneca
  • Joe Koszarek - Community Leader
  • Anna Maria Larsen - Lumenis Partners, LLC
  • Deana Mary* - PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  • Carl Mayfield - RLJ Lodging Trust
  • Susan Penfield - Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Barbara Rudin* - ICF International
  • Susan Santana - AT&T Services, Inc.
  • Virginia Austin Shubert - Executive Coaching Network, Inc.
  • Gigi Schumm - AGS Group
  • Bruce Schutte* - Wine Pro Tours
  • Matthew Vaughan* - Leidos
  • Laverne Webb - EnCompass LLC


Chairman’s Advisory Council Members

  • JR Clark - Squire, Sanders & Dempsey, LLP
  • Pat Schambach - Schambach & Williams Consulting
  • Todd Stottlemyer - Inova Center for Personalized Health

*Indicates newly elected board member

 About the American Red Cross:

The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation's blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. For more information, please visit or visit us on Twitter at @RedCross