You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Red Cross of the Bay Area Celebrate San Francisco County Volunteers

San Francisco, CA (May 13, 2016) - The American Red Cross of the Bay Area are proud to present the Clara Barton Award to Eleanor Najjar of San Francisco.

The Clara Barton Award for Meritorious Volunteer Leadership recognizes a volunteer for service in a series of leadership positions held over a period of years, enabling the American Red Cross to provide valuable service to the community.

Eleanor is a long-time Red Cross volunteer at the local and national level. This year, she reinvigorated our Government Relations Committee to grow the Red Cross relationships with our local, state and federal elected officials. She has been collaborating with our Red Cross colleagues at all levels and has been developing strategic plan for managing our Chapter's relationships with elected officials.

Eleanor is organized, proactive, and a great mentor to employees and volunteers alike. She injects fun and meaningful mission information into the work of the Government Relations Committee. She also serves on the Governance and Leadership Development Committee of the Board of Directors and is an active contributor in all she does for the Red Cross.

Other outstanding volunteers honored at the Volunteer Awards and Recognition Event on May 4 at Patio Español Restaurant in San Francisco include:

•         Administration and Support Award: Keisha Marsh of San Francisco

•         Collaboration Award: Gwen Mitchell of San Francisco

•         Community Engagement Award: Joseph Williams of Oakland

•         Disaster Cycle Service, Outstanding Support Award: Paul Hamilton of San Francisco

•         Disaster Cycle Service, Exceptional Response Award: Barry Gruber of San Francisco

•         Disaster Cycle Service, Exceptional Leadership Award: Marianna Thomas of San Francisco

•         Disaster Cycle Service, Extraordinary Commitment and Dedication: Ron Mulgrew of San Francisco

•         New Volunteer Award: Arthur (A.J.) Cook of San Francisco

•         Teamwork Award: Volunteer and Youth Services Team (Maria Pronina of Daly City, Chip Graham of San Francisco, Keisha Marsh of San Francisco and Joseph Williams of Oakland); San Francisco/San Mateo County Newsletter Team (Aaron Litwin of San Francisco and Diane Dahlstedt of San Francisco)

•         Volunteer Leadership Award: Eleanor Leyva of Foster City

•         Volunteer of the Year Award: Steve Harper of San Francisco

•         Youth Services Award: Chenyi (Kitty) Yu of San Francisco

Pictures from the event can be found here: