You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

National Nursing Awards

Honoring the Outstanding Contributions of Red Cross Nurses


Susan Hassmiller, Ph.D., RN, FAAN for whom this award is named, is honored by Bonnie McElveen-Hunter and the American Red Cross.

The American Red Cross Susan Hassmiller Nursing Award, a one-time $5,000 grant, was established in 2007 to enhance Red Cross local service delivery capacity through the increased engagement of nurses in policy, leadership, and service delivery positions. The awards judging panel looks for programs or activities that boost nurse engagement in one or a combination of the Red Cross lines of business, and/or in policy and leadership roles.
How to Apply

Creative proposals developed by a community-wide partnering of public health interests, a group of Red Cross chapters or SAF stations, chapters and Blood Services regions jointly, are desired. Nominations for the Susan Hassmiller Nursing Award are due August 11, 2017.

Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants may be a Red Cross unit or a group of units. The application must be endorsed by the unit executive. A letter of support from the regional or divisional leader(s) is encouraged.

Preference will be given to applicants whose proposed program/activity:

  • Enhances the unit or units’ ability to effectively engage nurses and/or nursing students in Biomedical Services, Disaster Cycle Services, International Service, Preparedness and Health and Safety Services and Service to the Armed Forces.
  • Enhances the capacity or reach of an existing program in a significant manner.
  • Is sustainable once the award money has been spent.
  • Can be replicated by other units.
  • Is enhanced through matching dollars and/or in-kind resources.
  • Utilizes community partners/organizations to enhance and expand the reach of the program/activity.
  • Applicants must agree that, if selected, they will submit mid-term and annual reports and their program/activity for inclusion in the national headquarters Best Practice database. Recipient(s) must be available to attend the American Red Cross National Awards and Recognition Ceremony held in Washington, D.C

    ann magnussen recipient

    Susan Denavit receiving the Ann Magnussen Award, March 28th, 2017 at The National Awards and Recognition Dinner at the Board of Governors Hall.

    The Ann Magnussen Award is presented annually to a volunteer or employed registered nurse who has made an outstanding contribution to strengthening or improving American Red Cross programs and services. It is the highest honor of individual nursing achievement in the American Red Cross.
    How to Apply

    Nominations for the Ann Magnussen Award are made by local Red Cross units. Nominations are due September 29, 2017.

    Eligibility Criteria:

    Nominee must be a registered nurse who is currently associated with an American Red Cross unit. Nominees will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Provides service to others
  • Teaches/Involves others
  • Exhibits compassion, professionalism and a humanitarian spirit
  • Demonstrates specific, outstanding contributions to strengthening or improving Red Cross programs and services
  • The Nomination requires endorsement by a second nominator as well as support from the nominee’s unit executive.

    florence nightingale recipient

    Florence Nightingale Medal winners Carmen Kynard, Vonnie Thomas, Diane St. Denis and Laura Favand received their awards on October 28, 2015, in Washington, D.C. Photo credit: Dennis Drenner/American Red Cross.

    The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) awards the prestigious Florence Nightingale Medal bi-annually to exceptionally qualified nurses and voluntary nursing aides around the world who have distinguished themselves in time of peace or war by:

    - Exceptional courage and devotion to the wounded, sick or disabled or to civilian victims of a conflict or disaster

    - Exemplary services or a creative and pioneering spirit in the areas of public health or nursing education

    Nominees must be active members or regular helpers of a National Red Cross or Red Crescent Society or of an affiliated medical or nursing institution. The Medal is the highest international distinction a nurse can receive.
    How to Apply

    The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) issues a call for Florence Nightingale Medal nominations to all the national societies every other year during the fall of even years (e.g. 2012, 2014) and announces Medal recipients the following spring. A committee of American Red Cross nurses reviews all U. S. nominations and submits nominees who meet the eligibility criteria to the ICRC for consideration. Nominations for 2017 are closed.

    Please email any questions to

    Eligibility Criteria:

  • U.S. nominees must be active registered nurses or nursing aides who are volunteers or employees of an American Red Cross unit or affiliated/partner agency/organization and are submitted through the national American Red Cross award process.
  • Nominators are asked to give examples of the nominee’s activities that show courage and compassion; describe activities carried out to meet the needs of the injured, sick or otherwise vulnerable; and describe innovative activities that have served to improve the quality of care and/or of staff training.
  • American Red Cross recipients receive their Florence Nightingale Medals at an American Red Cross ceremony.
  • Donate Now

    Support all the urgent humanitarian needs of the American Red Cross.

    $10.00 is the minimum online donation amount. All donations are tax deductible.