About Us

  • Eastern South Dakota ERVs in Canistota
Since its founding in 1881 by visionary leader Clara Barton, the American Red Cross has been the nation's premier emergency response organization. As part of a worldwide movement that offers neutral humanitarian care to the victims of war, the American Red Cross distinguishes itself by also aiding victims of devastating natural disasters. Over the years, the organization has expanded its services, always with the aim of preventing and alleviating suffering.

    Red Cross Chapters and Units formed in South Dakota beginning in 1917. For 100 years we have been serving by:

  • Sheltering, Feeding, and Caring for disaster victims
  • Teaching lifesaving skills
  • Connecting military members and their families
  • Supplying nearly half the nation’s blood
  • Providing humanitarian aid worldwide