2016 Gold Country Region Heroes Awards

  • 2016 Gold Country Region Heroes Awards
Every day, ordinary people make extraordinary contributions by putting their needs aside to help others in our community. The American Red Cross is honored to salute these unsung heroes. Your hero might be a lifeguard who saved a drowning child, an ordinary citizen who performed CPR when a stranger collapsed at a shopping mall or someone who saved a neighbor’s beloved pets from a fire.

Join the American Red Cross Gold Country Region in honoring Heroes from our region at the Annual Heroes Recognition events!

We have three different awards ceremonies in 2016.

Someone who has done something extraordinary for someone else this year? Someone who has saved a life or responded courageously to a disaster? Now is your chance to honor them. The Heroes Awards Recognition events are a chance to recognize community members for acts of courage and selflessness in service to others.

Adult Good Samaritan: Presented to an ordinary citizen above the age of 18, for an extraordinary act of heroism or courage.

Youth Good Samaritan: Presented to an ordinary citizen under the age of 18 for an extraordinary act of heroism or courage.

Animal Rescue: Presented to an animal who has saved the life of a human, an ordinary citizen who used lifesaving skills to save the life of an animal (s), or to an individual involved in the care of animals.

First Responder: Presented to a first responder who went above and beyond the call of duty to perform an act of heroism.

Workplace: Presented to an individual or group who performed and act of heroism in his/her or their workplace.

Military: Presented to a member of the armed forces (active or retired, commissioned or non-commissioned) whose lifesaving action went above and beyond the call of duty - this award may be awarded posthumously.

Red Cross Hero: Presented to an individual who performed an act of heroism that exemplifies the humanitarian mission of the American Red Cross.

The American Red Cross Gold Country Region represents 24 counties in Northern California.

Nomination deadlines:
  • Yolo: December 15, 2015
  • San Joaquin: February 3, 2016
  • Stanislaus: April 5, 2016
Nominees must live in:
  • Yolo: Honoring Heroes of Sacramento, Yolo, Placer, and El Dorado counties
  • San Joaquin: Honoring Heroes of San Joaquin, Calaveras, and Amador counties
  • Stanislaus: Honoring Heroes of Stanislaus and Tuolumne counties
Though the heroic act may have occurred anywhere the hero nominee must reside in of the counties served by the Gold Country Region.

Heroic act must have been performed after January 1, 2015

Hero nominees, their nominators and/or the person who was saved must be available for videotaped prior to the awards ceremonies.

Nominees must be available to attend the Heroes Awards on:
  • Yolo: January 22, 2016
  • San Joaquin: March 16, 2016
  • Stanislaus: May 18, 2016
Sponsorship opportunities are available for one or multiple Red Cross Heroes events. All funds raised through Red Cross Heroes directly benefits the Gold Country Region programs and services. For additional sponsorship information, please contact Kathleen Mitchell at (916) 990-4133.

Come one, come all! Listen to inspiring stories of kindness and courage and share the goodness in our community. Buy your ticket today and bring a friend to one or all three Heroes Recognition events. Your participation will help support Red Cross Disaster Relief in the community.