You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Red Cross Welcomes Honorary Chairman President Barack Obama

Honorary Chairman
President Barack Obama is the organization’s Honorary Chairman

Since 1906, the American Red Cross has had as part of its structure an office of President. United States President Woodrow Wilson agreed to serve in this position in 1913, establishing a tradition followed by all subsequent presidents that they become Honorary President of the American Red Cross.

That title was changed to Honorary Chairman in 1947.

The American Red Cross welcomes President Barack Obama as the organization’s Honorary Chairman. In this capacity, his duties include appointing the chairman of the Board of Governors and designating members of his Administration to serve on the Red Cross Cabinet Council. As honorary chair, the President’s signature is on the American Red Cross Certificate of Merit National Lifesaving Award, the organization’s highest award for people who have used the skills they learned in Red Cross courses to help save or sustain a life.

Tags: Leadership.
About the American Red Cross:
The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation's blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. For more information, please visit or, or visit us on Twitter at @RedCross.