You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Cape, Islands and Southeast Chapter Holds 100th Annual Meeting

cape cod annual meeting 100
The Annual Meeting held a special significance as it is the 100th Annual Meeting for the Chapter as it celebrates its Centennial year.

The Cape, Islands and Southeast Massachusetts of the American Red Cross held its annual meeting on June 16 in Hyannis at the Cape Cod Maritime Museum. The meeting held a special significance as it is the 100th annual meeting for the Chapter as it celebrates its Centennial year.

The meeting kicked off with opening remarks by Denise Thorne Johnson the Board Chair who welcomed volunteer and paid staff, community supporters and Board members to the meeting. Johnson took care of formal Board business. Executive Director Hilary Greene gave an overview about all the work and achievements the chapter accomplished throughout the fiscal year.

Col. Virginia Doonan, Board Nomination Chair introduced new Board Members for nomination Tom Cleary, Marianna Costa-Brown, Bob Eisenstein and Linda Sheldon. New Board officers were also elected. Barry Rector was elected as Chair, Tracy Shaughnessy as Vice Chair and Catherine Nass as Clerk. Barry Rector then gave brief remarks, welcoming new members of the Board and talking about the Red Cross Mission. Next retiring Board members Enzo Allegretti, Mike Shepard and Jim Thomas were honored by the group.

Volunteer recognition and appreciation was another big focus of the meeting. This year volunteers were honored by the years of service by Chief Disaster Officer for the region, Tim Pitoniak. Volunteers were honored for five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 50 years of service.

Barry Rector then recognized Frank O’Laughlin for his tireless efforts as a Red Cross volunteer with the Community Service Award. O’Laughlin has expertise as a meteorologist which he provides to the Red Cross a valuable asset, especially during large scale weather events. Frank is also critical member of the Disaster Service Technology team, where he donates his time and talent insuring that we have the technology we need when a disaster strikes.

Sean O’Brien presented a Community Leadership Award to Jean Roma and the Medical Reserve Corps to close out the event. Guests were then able to enjoy a small reception in the beautiful harbor side setting the Museum provides.

Volunteer Awards

5 Years:

  • Terri Arthur
  • Bethann Bonacci
  • Susan Czernicka
  • Brenda Desmarais
  • Roger Desmarais
  • Robert Flichtenmayer
  • Myles Hill
  • Julie Johnson
  • Lynn Levine
  • Joyce McConnell
  • Debra Miller
  • Michael Miller
  • Carol Neuger
  • Paul Neuger
  • Edward Pierce
  • Phyllis Vincent
  • Kent Whitcomb
  • 10 Years

  • Richard Bedgio
  • Brian Billiter
  • Lisa Billiter
  • Ken Duty
  • Janine Eaton
  • Jeanne Gibbons
  • Louise Graham
  • Betty Hartman
  • Robert Hartman
  • Cathy Karras
  • Edward Kremzier
  • Debra Ladd
  • Denise Lawton
  • Cecile Maranhas
  • Patricia McGarry
  • Eleanor Morad
  • Malee Prete
  • Pamela Proulx
  • Anne Renehan
  • Michael Robbins
  • Lois Shea
  • Melissa Sieminski
  • Frances Smith
  • William Smith
  • Teresa Temple
  • 15 Years

  • Richard Coleman
  • Jacqueline Hill
  • Dorothy Vacca
  • Marge Verre
  • June Von Hone
  • Dee Yeater
  • 20 Years

  • Maureen Shannon
  • 25 Years

  • Rebecca Alden
  • Sharry Grunden
  • 30 Years

  • David Pollock
  • 50 Years

  • Enzo Allegretti